AAAA is a domain address record, which is in essence the IPv6 address of the server where the domain name is hosted. The IPv6 system was designed to replace the present IPv4 system where each IP address comprises of four sets of decimal digits which range from 1 to 255 e.g. 5.168.208.143. In comparison, an IPv6 address features 8 groups of four hexadecimal numbers - which range from 0 to 9 and from A to F. The reason behind this change is the significantly smaller amount of unique IPs the existing system supports and also the speedy increase of units that are connected to the world wide web. An example of an IPv6 address is 2101:1f34:32e2:2415:1365:4f2b:2553:1345. If you'd like to point a domain address to a server that uses this kind of an address, you have to set up an AAAA record for it, not the widely used A record, that is an IPv4 address. The two records have the very same function, yet different notations are used, so as to differentiate the two forms of addresses.

AAAA Records in Shared Hosting

If you want to create a new AAAA record for any domain name or subdomain hosted in your shared hosting account, it is not going to take you more than several basic steps to do that. Our in-house built Hepsia Control Panel is rather intuitive to use and it will allow you to create or change any record without difficulty. After you sign in and navigate to the DNS Records section, in which you'll discover all present records for your domains and subdomains, you'll simply have to click on the "New" button, select AAAA from a small drop-down menu inside the pop-up which will appear, enter or paste the needed IPv6 address and save the modification - it's as simple as that. The new record will be fully active within a maximum of one hour and the hostname that you have created it for shall start opening whatever content you have with the other provider. If needed, you'll also be able to modify the TTL (Time To Live) value, which indicates the time in seconds the new record will be functioning after you eventually modify it to something different or you simply delete it.