A password-protected directory or area is a folder which can be accessed only when a username and a password are provided, so no unauthorized people could view its content. This feature could be used for the main folder of a particular website or only for a certain subfolder based on your needs. As an illustration, when you are developing a new site and you do not want people to see it prior to it being ready, you need to prohibit the access to it completely, while if you need only some people to be able to access particular files, you are able to password-protect only a certain folder, while the rest of the website can be seen by anybody. Regardless, a “403 Forbidden” error page shall appear in case the login details the visitor enters are not correct. Even a direct link to a file shall not work given that any folder above it is password-protected.

Password Protected Directories in Shared Hosting

When you use any of our shared hosting solutions, you shall be able to create password-protected areas easily even if you have no experience with such matters. We have incorporated a really easy-to-use point-and-click tool in the Hepsia Control Panel, provided with all accounts, so you'll be able to shield any folder within merely seconds. You will have to select a domain or a subdomain and the exact folder which has to be protected (the primary one or a subfolder), and then to enter the preferred username and password which will be used to access the folder in question when you need it. Each and every protected folder will have a padlock icon in the File Manager section, so you will be able to see at a glance what content is secured and what's not. If necessary, you can create several different sets of login details for exactly the same folder.