Transferring an existing domain name entails changing the registrar company that provides the domain name registration service, so after the transfer itself, you’ll have to manage things like renewal payments or DNS entry modifications through the new domain name registrar. The transfer process is standard with most generic and country-code domain extensions. Some country-code extensions are more specific and entail different steps, but in the general case transferring a domain name entails a few basic steps and one of them is unlocking the domain name. The lock is a security option, which is being adopted by more and more domain registry operators. It’s a default feature supported by all gTLDs. If a domain name is locked, it won’t be possible to start a transfer procedure, so nobody can even attempt to snatch your domain. The lock can be annulled only through the account where the domain name is registered in the first place and all new domains that support this functionality are locked by default the moment they are registered.

Registrar Lock in Shared Hosting

The Hepsia Control Panel, which comes with each and every shared hosting package that we offer, will give you full control over your domains. You will find all domains registered through our company neatly displayed in alphabetical order in a separate section of the Control Panel. Those whose extensions support the registrar lock option will have a tiny padlock icon on their right. By clicking on the icon, you can see if the particular domain is locked or unlocked and you can alter the present status by clicking again – the process is as straightforward as that. You will not need to wait for the change to take effect or for our company to do anything, as the change of the status takes effect immediately, even if you see something else on WHOIS lookup websites. After all, it takes time for such sites to ‘refresh’ the information that they show.